Le sigh…. I received an email today with the subject “Important information about fraudulent email”. The fact that it made it through my spam filter without a valid sender, was actually interesting. So I decided to read it. It purported to be a notification about phishing and have some detail about a scam pretending to be from futureshop and requiring your credit card number.
The interesting thing here is that there were some links embedded in the text. Now if you pull up the picture there, you’ll see that the links don’t go to future shop. They actually look pretty fishy… dcm5.com???? I started wondering if this was a strange phishing scam trying to pass itself off as a warning about the very act of phishing!
So I took some action. I emailed futureshop and politely informed them that if this really was a warning about phishing, having shady emails and links wasn’t really the way to go about it. I also said that if this wasn’t a real email, I’d be concerned about the fact it seemed very targeted at a specific group. Anyway, to finish off the story I got a dumbass boiler-plate message stating this was an actual email from them. At this point I got snarky and told them to shape up their act when they send out warning emails (as if they’d listen to me anyway). Morons…
Entries (RSS)